Day Twenty-Seven – Movies I’m Looking Forward To Seeing

27 01 2010

If there’s one good thing about the January lull in the movie theatre, it’s that it gives me time to catch up on Oscar-bait such as Up in the Air and Precious. Though we are far from the summer when there’s a new movie for everyone every weekend, there are a handful of pictures coming up that have caught my eye. Some embarrassing, some just look good, but I’ll probably end up seeing them all.

February has one movie I’m excited to see and it’s probably not the one most film buffs are looking forward to most. Read on.

February 5, 2010

Dear John

I didn’t like The Notebook. I thought the story between the young Ryan Gosling and Rachael McAdams was great, but there was way too much of a disconnect when they returned to their old versions of themselves. For whatever reason, I’m sold on Dear John. It might be that I like Amanda Seyfried or it might be that I’m a softy. Either way, I’ll probably end up watching this flick, with or without the girlfriend.

February 19, 2010

Shutter Island

I’m not one of those film students who obsesses over Marty Scorsese. He’s a good director, great even, but he doesn’t get a free pass with me. There are movies of his that I’m not always interested in. That said, I really enjoyed the trailer for Shutter Island. It looks like an interesting psychological thriller that probably could have got some Oscar buzz if it came out when it was originally scheduled.

February 26, 2010

Cop Out

This is the movie I’m most looking forward to this February. I’m a big fan of Kevin Smith and it’s great to see him get a studio picture with Bruce Willis. Tracy Morgan is one of the best parts of 30 Rock and with Smith’s words in his mouth, it should be a good fit. Though Smith didn’t write this movie, I’d be shocked if he didn’t influence the dialogue. I’m hoping the trailer doesn’t do it justice. I’m assuming Warner Brothers isn’t sure how to market Kevin Smith to a mass audience, but I’ll be there nonetheless.

March looks a little more dense. The spring will bring packed with films, and the end of March looks like the ramp up towards it. It begins with the what will surely take the highest opening of the year so far, that is until the summer blockbusters roll out.

March 5, 2010

Alice in Wonderland

I’ve never loved Tim Burton. His style rubs me the wrong way. So many unnecessary swirls and overall creepiness. Yet, if there was ever a story that Burton was most suited for, it would be Alice in Wonderland. For once, his style will make sense within the narrative, rather than detracting from it like it did in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

March 12, 2010

Green Zone

Green Zone looks like the unofficial Bourne 4. I’m completely okay with that. I don’t need to see another Bourne. Let the series remain as it is, but I’m happy to see Matt Damon in a familiar situation. I’m really looking forward to this movie.

March 26, 2010

Chloe

Chalk it up to my aforementioned kind eye for Amanda Seyfried or the buzz that Chloe got at the Toronto International Film Festival, but I’ll be watching this film. It seems like it belongs in the award season line-up, but instead it comes out in between action flicks and a 3D childrens movie. One of many3D movies. This will be one of the last smart, challenging pictures I see before the summer popcorn movies begin to sprout up.

How to Train Your Dragon

This movie reminds me a lot of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, as far as my interest in seeing it goes. I’m always up for a good animated movie, but if I don’t make it to the theaters to see How to Train Your Dragon, I won’t be too upset. It looks good enough, but not something I’d put at the top of my list. It’ll be a good exercise in shutting my brain off to get ready for the onslaught of summer blockbusters.

The spring and summer will definitely be a lot more busy with new releases. There are still a handful of potential Oscar contenders I have to get out to see. By the end of the winter, I’ll probably have seen about 10 or so new releases.

I’ll have my MovieWatcher card handy.