Day Sixty-One – Oscar Predictions: Short Categories

2 03 2010

The Short Category is an interesting one. It’s all about the filmmakers of tomorrow and they get to rub shoulders with the stars of today. Pretty sweet deal for them.

The only problem with this category is that the shorts aren’t usually readily available. You’re pretty much guessing who’s going to win, unless you happen to catch them illicitly. That changed this year with Cineplex screening the shorts the day of the Oscars.

Given that, the only shorts I have seen are the animated. The others are educated guesses, based on reviews I’ve read and their subject matter.

Here’s my guesses…

Best Documentary Short
China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner
The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant
Music by Prudence
Rabbit à la Berlin

Boy, did I not enjoy The Last Truck. The documentary focused more on the workers than anything else, so it felt really one-sided. However, given the climate in America and the success of shows like Undercover Boss, I would have to assume this is the image that voters would want to project and voting for this doc is how to do it.

Best Live-Action Short
The Door
Instead of Abracadabra
Kavi
Miracle Fish
The New Tenants

The Door seems to be the favorite based on the subject matter. It’s about the after-effects of the Chernobyl disaster and the effects on the families that were displaced. From what I can see based on the limited images available, it looks as if it’s shot with an experienced eye. Even if the story doesn’t hold up, it’s a technically brilliant film – apparently. The Door is my shot in the dark to win.

Best Animated Short
French Roast

Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty
The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)
Logorama
Wallace and Gromit; A Matter of Loaf and Death

My full explanation for picking French Roast as the possible winner and reviews for each film are available on this post.

That wasn’t fun.

At least the technical awards, I was able to see and make a somewhat reasonable guess on what could win. Here, I had to do it completely blind (aside from the Animated category) so I was talking out of my ass there. I will see the shorts on the day of the Oscars, so I should be able to make a better guess then, but the damage is done. Those are my guesses.

Tomorrow, something I can make an actual evaluation and guess for – the Music category.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

