Day Thirty-Nine – Oscar Predictions: Best Short Animated Film

8 02 2010

The weirdest thing about this category is that some of the films came out in 2008. Knowing this, I’m shocked they couldn’t find better nominees. There are a couple of films that I was a fan of, but nothing that really blew me away.

You can make your own mind up, though. I’ve included the links to the shorts under the reviews.

See my prediction to win this category after my reviews below:

French Roast

The first thing that strikes you about ‘French Roast’ is the quality of the animation. The detail is near Pixar quality, while still having a style of its own. Somehow they managed to fit a B-plot into the short run-time, but never get a chance to explore it, so it feels almost useless. You know how it’s going to end as well, so it’s not so much heart-warming as it is predictable. Still, the quality of the production and the ability to convey every emotion with little dialogue make it enjoyable.

Rating: 70

Watch it here!

Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty

Granny O’Grimm is probably the world’s worst storyteller, but that’s exactly what makes “Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty” a fun short film. What starts as a regular bed-time story degrades into a gossip filled tirade of horrors. The differing animation styles make the story just as visually interesting as Granny’s skewed interpretation of the classic fairy tale, while also showing that the true Granny is much scarier than the fictionalized version in her story.

Rating: 85

Watch it here!

The Lady and the Reaper

What starts as a touching moment, where a lonely woman passes away with the solace of knowing she’ll be reunited with her dead husband turns into a silly mess of a battle between the Grim Reaper and a Doctor with his fawning nurses surrounding him. Though it reaches for the comedy aspect of it, the power of the opening scene could have been used to make a comment on the doctors Hippocratic Oath, while still providing laughs. Instead, it’s a giant, messy chase sequence with little plot to share.

Rating: 50

Watch it here!

Logorama

‘Logorama’ relies on its gimmick way too much. Were it not for its use of corporate logos to create the world, no one would watch past the first f-bomb by the Michelin men. It really does feel like film school quality storytelling. Even the logos aren’t used that well. For every good usage of a logo, there are 200 others that are completely irrelevant. Such a missed opportunity to say something interesting about our corporate culture, but I would have settled for entertainment. I got neither.

Rating: 2 (0 Stars)

Watch it here!

Wallace and Gromit: A Matter of Loaf and Death

Wallace and Gromit are almost at a disadvantage before I watch any of their films. I expect so much of them, that when I see something like ‘A Matter of Loaf and Death’, I get really disappointed. I know they’re capable of so much better. The story here has been done before so many times that even an interpretation by Nick Park’s characters can’t make it that interesting. Still, the animation here is top notch. The chase, battle and morning wake-up sequences are excellent, but I expect better.

Rating: 70 (3.5 Stars)

Watch it here!

My prediction to win it all?

French Roast

The Oscars tend to respect anything that can say everything with no dialogue. Though I had my problems with it, I do think that it deserves the prize. The animation is so detailed and the story, as predictable as it may be, is right up the Oscar’s ally.

I would have chosen Granny O’Grimm, but I don’t think that the two different animation styles are enough to win the voters over.

If I’m wrong, it’ll be because Wallace and Gromit: A Matter of Loaf and Death takes it. Their quality is high, as always, and they may overlook the lack of an original story or characters.

Overall, it’s a relatively weak year. I’m hoping something new and exciting will be around for next year. I’m sure the NFB will come up with something.

Actions

Information

One response

2 03 2010
Day Sixty-One – Oscar Predictions: Short Categories « Fresh Buckets of OJ

[…] My full explanation for picking French Roast as the possible winner and reviews for each film are available on this post. […]

Leave a Reply

