Day Thirty-Seven – Better Late Than…

6 02 2010

So it finally happened. I wasn’t able to keep up with my deadline of having a new post everyday, after doing so for 36 days.

Though I was pretty busy today, not with anything important, but with movie-screenings and UFC 109. The main excuse for not having anything ready was I hit a case of Writer’s Block.

Straight out of the dishwasher.

The Mug hissed at me today, feeling the irony once again.

I hit a wall. I couldn’t convince myself to do anything at all, so I did nothing. I wrote about Telefilm, the NFB and the UFC, but nothing seemed good enough. Nothing seemed like it was right.

And that’s the main thing that you need to get over Writer’s Block. Just give up on trying to write something that feels right and just write through it. Sure, you won’t write anything too spectacular, but you’ll get the train rolling again, and that’s what’s important at the end of the day. Getting words on the page. Or, in this case, on the screen.

The fear of not being good enough is enough to cripple anyone into submission. Yet, that’s the key right there. Don’t give into the fear. Just keep pushing forward. It’s something I’m still learning to do today.

The year I finished film school, I wrote two spec scripts, one for Entourage and another for Smallville. Reading them today, I can tell that I’ve improved from then. Still, back then, this was my ticket to Hollywood. My first try, I would be called up and on the WB lot in no time.

I sent my screenplays through Canada Post the day they were due and waiting with anticipation for my letter to come in the mail, inviting me to hang out with Spielberg and Scorsese. Instead, I got a kindly worded letter telling me I needed some work.

I took that note and stored it away, thinking it was just a small stumbling block. Instead, it was a road block. Deep down, I must have let it get to me, because I never completed a screenplay beginning to end that I didn’t scrap immediately.

I’m learning to power through it. I’m learning not to let the kindly worded rejection get to me. I’m learning to get over my fear and just do it.

Just write…like that.

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2010
Day Fifty-Nine – Two Months Later… « Fresh Buckets of OJ

[…] Day Thirty-Seven – Better Late Than… […]

Leave a Reply

