Day Thirty – Books I’m Trying to Read

30 01 2010

I like to read, but my problem is I’m not a very fast reader. I can spend years reading one book. Not just because of my speed, but my lack of any kind of attention span. I jump from book to book to book, sometimes reading up to 5 at a time.

In fact, here’s four that I’m reading now:

Hitman: My Life in the Cartoon World of Wrestling by Bret Hart

Bret Hart was my childhood hero. He was one of the few Canadian heroes out there that didn’t wear skates. I liked Hogan just like everybody else, but Hart was my true hero.

His book is really interesting, but man is it thick. I’ve been reading it for over a year and a half. I’m nearly half way through. I love his honesty. He doesn’t hold anything back. Though it does have some bias in it, you’re able to accept it. It’s his opinion, not a historic textbook.

Flashback: A Brief History of Film

I've been reading this book for so long that two newer editions have come out since I started reading it.

This is actually a history textbook. I’ve been reading it since 2004. I still haven’t read the 80s and 90s.

Everyone in my class skipped ahead and went backwards from there. I’ve been reading it sequentially. It’s a textbook in every sense of the word. It’s not written for entertainment, strictly for information and education. I do find it interesting to see how the most popular art form in the modern world came into being.

Dexter by Design by Jeff Lindsay

I don’t read much fiction, but I love the Dexter novels. They’re a lot darker than the TV show. Much more morbid, but the humour is also a lot darker/funnier. It helps to be able to picture all the characters. I haven’t got too deep into the novel at all yet. I’m almost saving it until I know the next one is available.

Breakfast with Sharks by Michael Lent

I’m usually reading a book about screenwriting at any given moment. For now, it’s this one. Just like every other book, it says I should be writing rather than reading about it.

So instead I’m writing about it.

That’s it for the moment. I’ll be through the last two in no time. They’re pretty light. It’ll be years before I’m done the first two. I usually read a chapter or two in one sitting, then set it aside for weeks. It’s a weird way to read, but that’s how I do it.

If anything, it explains why I was never able to cram for tests.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

