Day Twenty-Eight – Over-Hype

28 01 2010

Yesterday, the iPad was unleashed amid days of rumours and hearsay.

For almost a year before this device was announced, people have been salavating for it. According to some, this device would bring the end of all suffering in the world. I would change how we eat, breathe and think. The world change from the very instance it was announced and we would never be able to go back.

Then it was released and people realized it’s like a big iPhone and not much else.

That didn’t stop Apple from continuing the hype.

The most over-hyped product since the last time Apple announced something.

You need to watch the video in order to understand how over-hyped this product is.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s neat. I’ll probably shell out the $499 for one like everyone else when it becomes available. Though I doubt I will sit there in awe of how many things it can do.

To me, the iPad is just repacking what I already have available to me. I’m typing this on my HP laptop right now. With the iPad, I can do that on-screen! Neat-o!

What they don’t mention is the cumbersome Safari browser I’ll need to use. I’m not a fan of it on the iPhone, I doubt I’ll love it on the iPad.

But wait, they say that it’ll revolutionize email and make it fun. Except I hate their mail application on the iPhone, which pretty much strips everything I’ve become accustomed to on my Gmail account so that I can swipe my emails away rather than click delete.

I can watch movies on it. That’s new. I think I’ve watched 2-3 movies on my laptop in about 7 years. If I’m anywhere near a TV, I’m opting for that.

Don’t get me wrong. There are things that are good about the iPad as well, I just don’t think it’ll change my life the way the video would have me believe.

Gaming, for example, should be a step up from the iPhone. It loses the portability that having a game library in my pocket brings, but it’ll make gameplay itself more enjoyable. The “yoke” based games, such as top-seller Call of Duty: World at War: Zombies should be a lot easier to handle now that my thumbs won’t take up 40% of the screen.

Those poor souls that spent $300+ on a Kindle must be kicking themselves now. eBook readers are neat, but they only have one real function. Now you essentially have a netbook that feels like an eBook reader.

At the end of the day, the iPad is a cool product. I’m just a little upset with the over-hype. It’s good, not earth-shattering.

I got enough over-hype with Avatar.

Actions

Information

One response

31 01 2010
Day Thirty-One – One Month Later… « Fresh Buckets of OJ

[…] Day Twenty-Eight – Over-Hype […]

Leave a Reply

