Day Twenty-Five – Movies I’ve Seen Recently and Why Criticker Makes Them Fun

25 01 2010

I’m a huge fan of movies. I went to the Toronto Film School for my college education. I spent over $1000 on movies in 2009 alone. I make it my mission to see as many movies as possible.

That’s why a website like Criticker is one of my favourite time-wasters. As of this post, I’ve seen and rated 798 films. From those 798 films, Criticker comes up with suggestions for 799, 800 and onward. The more you put into it, the better it gets at picking films you’d enjoy and how much you’ll enjoy them. I find it’s pretty accurate.

The website is suited for the Twitter generation. The reviews are limited to 500 characters, forcing you to be clear and concise with your opinions. One thing I hate about reading multiple reviews is that most of the reviews are summaries; Criticker solves that problem.

Not everyone is able to say something with substance in so few characters, but those that do are rewarded with a gold star from appreciative users. I have a few myself. Though you can just rate films and leave the reviews blank. It all goes towards your score.

If you’re interested, click on the link below to set up your account. If you like movies at all, I suggest you check it out.

Here are some of my most recent reviews:

Brothers (2009)

‘Brothers’ isn’t the movie the trailer sells you. You expect it to be about a relationship blooming in the absence of another, but it’s really a movie about grief and expectations in all relationships. Nearly every character is attempting to impose their will on the next, with some relenting and others collapsing under the pressure. You get invested in these relationships and as the stakes change, so do your allegiances. Every situation feels real and organic, though the father is a cliche.

Rating: 85 (4 Stars)

Dead Snow (2009)

‘Dead Snow’ follows the rule that if you mention that you’re ripping something off, it’s not a rip-off, it’s an homage. ‘Evil Dead’ and ‘Friday the 13th’ are mentioned and ‘Dead Snow’ faithfully follows their conventions, as well as others. The beginning does take a little while to establish the back story, but once that’s done, the film gets brutal and exhilarating. The kills are comically over-the-top and the banter, however sparse, keeps things chipper in even the most tense situations.

Rating: 75 (3.5 Stars)

Kramer vs. Kramer (1979)

‘Kramer vs. Kramer’ is at its best in the silent moments. Almost every emotion can be conveyed with a simple look or action. Roger Ebert claims that ‘Kramer vs. Kramer’ was only successful because it didn’t take sides. In my opinion, that’s what makes it successful. One character feels trapped in a life they don’t want and the other accepts the life they’re given. It’s clear throughout which side is more nobel. Not just a comment on the custody laws, but a comment on the value of selflessness.

Rating: 80 (4 Stars)

I’ll be sure to add more in the near future. There are still movies I’ve seen that need to be reviewed. I’ll post them as soon as possible.

Actions

Information

One response

31 01 2010
Day Thirty-One – One Month Later… « Fresh Buckets of OJ

[…] Day Twenty-Five – Movies I’ve Seen Recently and Why Criticker Makes Them Fun […]

Leave a Reply

