Day Twenty-Three – I Miss the Drive-In

23 01 2010

About the same time that Christmas ends, my hatred for winter begins to take hold. No longer can I drive without worrying about the little old lady behind me, following a little too closely. Trips to the beach are the most depressing sight, with half melted snow barely covering the litter left in the fall. Yet, most disappointing of all is the closing of the drive-in.

Maybe I’m exaggerating a touch, but the drive-in has always been a metaphor for the care-free summer nights of the yesteryear. Watching the sunset behind the big screen. Hearing the crunching of gravel and sand as movie-goers find their parking spots. The smell of popcorn mixed with a cool summer nights breeze. There’s nothing like it.

Though the backdrop in Oakville isn't quite as spectacular, it still gives me that warm feeling inside.

I must confess, I didn’t get to the drive-in more than once last year due to the awful summer weather. If the weather-man is nice to us all this coming summer, though, I’m ready and willing to make up for it.

As far as specific venues go, I’m a big fan of the 5 Drive-In in Oakville. They really sell the family aspect of going to the drive-in and love to play up the nostalgia. They used to play a Woody Woodpecker cartoon before the first feature and they still play the “Let’s All Go to the Lobby” song and dance.

It’s also a lot more affordable than going to a regular movie theatre. You get two, sometimes three, new releases for $11.00. It can get as low as $5.00 for the same movies on Tuesdays or $15.00 for “Carload Thursdays”. Not to mention you can control who you sit next to.

The 5 Drive-In was open all the way until Christmas last year, thanks to the mild weather. As much as I like having it as my special thing to do in the summer, I really hope more people go and support this theatre. The summer nights at the drive-in are something I look forward to all year-round and I would hate for that to end. So if you have a car, grab yourself a comfortable pillow and drive your way down to Oakville to catch a couple flicks.

I plan to this summer and I can’t wait.

Actions

Information

One response

31 01 2010
Day Thirty-One – One Month Later… « Fresh Buckets of OJ

[…] Day Twenty-Three – I Miss the Drive-In […]

Leave a Reply

