Day One – The Ironic Mug aka The Useless Writer’s Challenge

1 01 2010
Straight out of the dishwasher.

The Mug that laughs at the irony with each sweet sip of Timmies.

Every time I sit to drink a coffee, I stare at my ironic mug as it laughs back at me. Proudly exclaiming “WRITER” on either side. The mug, though it was a gift, originally gave me a sense of pride and purpose. Now  it’s just a sad reminder of how little I’ve done in the past 5 years.  I’ve taken classes, online and in person, read books and magazines and even joined writers groups. All while never really writing very much.

To date, I have two scripts which I’ve completed thoroughly enough to permit sending out.  Both of which were promptly sent back with a “thanks, but no thanks” from the Warner Bros. Writer’s Workshop. Just a small stumbling block in what would become a budding career as a screenwriter in Los Angeles.

Clearly, that has not been the case. In order to have any forward movement, I would need to try again. Instead, I allowed excuses to get in the way. I gained weight, I dug myself deep into debt and I wrote next to nothing. A short story here or there, but nothing that to get me to that once so attainable goal.

Which brings me to this blog.

A writer must write. Not when I have time. Not when I’m inspired. Not when I have something to write about. Just when it’s time to write. Therefore, I’ve set a goal for myself:

Write a post for every day of 2010

I realize this is no easy task when I’m motivated like an over-fed house cat, but that’s what makes it a challenge. In most cases, I am unwilling to commit to anything that doesn’t involve a steady pay-cheque, therefore I feel I need to set some ground rules:

  • Daily posts can be written ahead of time, set to post on the next free day. This will leave no excuse for the inevitability that I will need to stop writing for a day or two.
  • Text-based posts will be no shorter than 350 words. Shouldn’t be hard to do as I tend to ramble on and on.
  • Topics can range from anything to editorials, diaries, reviews, short stories and screenplays. Basically, keeping everything wide open to keep things fresh.
  • Posts can originate from anywhere. If I post a review on Yelp!, The Movie Marathon or any other website, I must include a link to the original post, which must be written on the day that it is posted on this blog.
  • A new post must be up for every calendar day of 2010.

These rules are easy enough to abide by.

I’ve always dreamed of doing a web-comic, a tv-pilot, a spec screenplay, a short documentary and some type of video game. Now I’ve given myself the excuse to go through with it. With a little luck and fortitude, this little experiment will give me the confidence to go through with these projects.

If nothing else, my mug will be slightly less ironic.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

